Writing in the World

Today I’ve been researching writing jobs. From a copy editing job for a science-y firm in NYC to a copy writing position for Toms to the role of acquisitions editor for Arcadia Publishing, I’ve been looking at jobs I could get after I graduate in less that two (TWO!) years. This is a very daunting task.

The pay isn’t fantastic, but getting paid to do what you love is what counts. I am determined to enjoy my job. I will not be one of those people who dreads going to work every day. I’m under no illusions that I’ll bound out of bed when the alarm clock sounds, but I’ll at least be content and/or happy with my job.

I’ve been trying to find something with KnopfDoubleday, but their website is not very friendly. Also, all the changes in the publishing business have me freaked out. Are there going to be jobs available that I’ll enjoy doing? Will they pay the rent and allow me enough time to continue writing, my writing? Will someone be willing to help put me through grad school?

That’s the next step, you know. I want to get my MFA in Creative Writing because I love it, I love creative writing classes and being around interesting, literary people and I love workshopping because it’s so helpful in every imaginable way. But I also want to work. I want to get my foot in the door of this industry as soon as possible so that I can be comfortable in it and know what I’m doing. And I know what people say, when I get all worried like this; that I already have my foot in the door as an AlaMag editorial assistant and the freelance editing I’m doing this summer. Part of me still questions if this is good enough. These aren’t jobs with benefits. I mean, at most I’m still making eight dollars an hour. It’s not enough to be independent, to pay my student loans off in a timely manner and eat anything other than Top Ramen.

I don’t want to be rich by American standards. I just want to be comfortable doing what I love. I want to not have to live paycheck to paycheck and I want to be able to afford to send my kids to school. When did this small set of requirements become a six figure task?

Leave a Reply

