Words Worth Repeating: Emerson

I need to write regularly. It’s good for me, Tita says it’s the only way to get better, and she’s write. Unfortunately, sometimes my mind goes blank or I get irritable and don’t want to work on old work or new work or basically anything that will eventually serve a purpose. But I still need to be writing.

Enter the quotes.

I’ve been fascinated with words for as long as I can remember. When I was 14, I asked my parents if I could start writing them on my walls and, surprisingly, they said yes. Song lyrics, Bible verses, quotes from authors I like, even the dates it’s snowed in the past years  shine on my walls in silver sharpie. So I figure this is as good a way as any (fairly unproductive) other way to procrastinate: talking about the words of others and why I like them and if, perhaps, they influence me. I kind of have ideas about who I like and want to emulate – Fitzgerald, Hemingway, and J.C. Oates all have their grasps on my affection – but it doesn’t hurt to learn more and read more and be exposed to more people who write beautiful things.

Emerson is credited with writing, “Live in the sunshine. Swim the sea. Drink the wild air.” For some reason this sticks with me in a very physical, I-know-how-to-live-vibrantly kind of way. It also gave me the idea of the Wild Air poem about childhood and fireflies and the transient nature of, well, everything (and when I can convey all of this, particularly that latter bit, without saying it, well perhaps then I’ll be writing something very good).

So here’s to the poets, the writers, the thinkers, and all who inspire us to be true.

2 thoughts on “Words Worth Repeating: Emerson

  1. I just wanted to tell you that you have your own bookmark on my main page. Just so I an read you as often as I want.

Leave a Reply

