Words Worth Repeating: Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol was not a writer in particular, but he was certainly an artist. An eccentric, brilliant artist. He said some pretty neat things, too, which is why he made the quote list today.

“Don’t think about making art, just get it done. Let everyone else decide if it’s good or bad, whether they love it or hate it. While they are deciding, make even more art.”

This was perfect for today, for my procrastination and doubt. Practical, everyday worries pile on top of writer-worries and I wonder what the use of it is, if it’s worth it to continue to write even when I feel like I just don’t want to. Especially when I feel like I just don’t want to, like it’s not good enough. (I hate first drafts. They never seem even remotely acceptable.)

Warhol was good at this. He was a revolutionary artist, essentially defining the new genre of pop art. He was crazy controversial and now his art is huge; how many artists have a whole museum all to themselves? He knew what he was doing, not listening to the masses, just making his art and living his life the way he wanted.

I just need to make art. Stop worrying whether or not it’s good, just live a life worth living, that gives me something to write about. Like Tita says, it’s the only way you ever get better.

Leave a Reply

