Words Worth Repeating: Emerson again

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

Well, he was a wise poet. I saw this earlier today and, for some reason, thought it was also along the lines of “do what makes you happy.” While the thoughts may be along similar wavelengths, I look at the quote again and wonder how I managed to get that first impression.

Emerson says to let each day speak for itself, to live each one separately, to live in the present. I like that. And to it I add my own affirmation- do what makes you happy each day. I feel like that’s the best way to breed peace and contentment.

Today (instead of working on short stories or the thesis), I spent a great deal of time on Elon’s website and my spreadsheet of college classes. Because I’ve been writing so much poetry this summer, I’ve realized I want to take poetry in the fall, even if it means I’ll be taking 22 hours of classes. I like writing, I’d probably be doing it anyway, and I think it’s something that I ought to do – not because I have to, but because I need it and I’ll regret not doing it. So I’ve been messing around with my schedule and, as of right now, I’d like to double-concentrate in Literature and Creative Writing.

It’s going to be crazy. It’s going to mean I’m a lot busier than I thought I would be. It might mean I’ll get sick like I did this year, working too hard and wearing down. Maybe it will mean that I won’t work out as often as I’d like. But I think that, long term, I’m going to be happier knowing that I took all these classes and did these things and learned from these amazing professors how to be a better writer.

So I think it’s going to be worth it. I’m not completely sure I’ve gotten the classes figured out. I’ll feel better once I talk to an academic adviser or something and get everything properly sorted. But I am sure that this is what I want to do.

Then on to grad school.

One thought on “Words Worth Repeating: Emerson again

  1. I put that quote on my wall over a year ago. It’s one of my favorites. Especially because I have a tendency to beat myself up over the past instead of letting it go and doing what I can in the present. And don’t kill yourself, but I support you 100%. Do what you need to do, ok girl?

Leave a Reply

