Words Worth Repeating: How I love Irish blessings

“May you always be blessed with walls for the wind, a roof for the rain, a warm cup of tea by the fire, laughter to cheer you, those you love near you, and all that your heart may desire.”

The Irish have a funny way of being lyrical, even in English, and I love it. Maybe that’s why I love lyrical writing so much, because it’s in my blood. Isn’t this such a beautiful blessing? In less than fifty musical words, they just about summed up happiness as I know it. Simple and true and just…there’s an honest goodness about the Irish. A hardworking simplicity, at least that’s how it’s seemed to me. As far up on a pedestal as I put this group of people, I have to be seeing it romantically, the whole nation. I want to write that way, though: simple, beautiful, honest. It just seems right to me, and right for me.

I can think of nothing better than going back. Ireland – and Galway specifically – is home in a way that nowhere else seems to be. I’m nearly counting the days.

Sometimes I wish I was just going to go back to Ireland for the semester instead of staying in London. And then I think, how first-world are my problems, really? I am so blessed to have already spent a month travelling the Emerald Isle. So I am looking forward to the whole studying in London thing.

But still…I can’t wait to be in Ireland again.

Leave a Reply

