Word Worth Repeating: Mary Oliver

“I want to think again of dangerous and noble things. I want to be light and frolicsome; I want to be improbable and beautiful and afraid of nothing as though I had wings.” -Mary Oliver.

Pretty beautiful, right?

Here’s what I’ve learned about life this summer (though it isn’t even over yet)…

1. If I accept that I grow and am different than I once was, I must accept the same in others. I’ve been saying quite frequently that I have changed, that I am different. I have to accept that this is true for others as well.

2. Once you accept that people are different, you can move on so much easier. Also, I’ve realized that I’ve been using my past to keep from telling people that I’m emotionally available, just because it’s easier than dealing with the present. Now that I’ve realized this…well, I realized I moved on a long time ago and just didn’t let my mouth catch up with my heart.

3. I would rather work my ass off than have my career or my education or my life handed to me tied pretty with a bow. Before Thanksgiving break this past year, I saw a student at my university being loaded into a black SUV by a person who was clearly a chauffeur or bodyguard. It stuck with me, and I couldn’t help but think how glad I am that my life is not controlled by people hired by Mommy and Daddy. I may still be somewhat dependent on my parents, but they don’t write me blank checks, and I’m grateful that they’ve given me the ability to stand on my own feet.

4. Just when you declare that you do not have time for the possibilities of relationships, Possibility will bite you in the ass. And maybe you have to let it, and then turn around and make nice. Because, after all, life tends to happen when you least expect it.

5. The American people as a whole have no idea what good art is. Prime example: 50 Shades of Grey and the latest action flick with enormous flaws in the storyline and flat, static characters. Along these lines, if I had to make the choice to be a popular writer or a good one, I would hope to choose to be a good one.

7. I would rather be the protagonist or the antagonist than one of those static, minor characters. I’d rather be spunky, snarky, good or bad, than anything in between. I’d rather be interesting than boring.

8. We should celebrate beautiful words. They come along so infrequently nowadays.

Leave a Reply

