October Trees – Ron Pope

Now, I firmly believe that there isn’t a lot of popular music that’s also poetry. However, there are some singer/songwriters out there who are wonderful, and beautiful, and write their own poetic lyrics. And I think that we should seek those people out and support their music and make sure that they can pay their bills and tour and live on the making of all that lovely music.

So, with that in mind, here are some of my favorite lyrics from my absolute favorite musician, the very talented Ron Pope. He’s out touring again, which is awesome, and if you live in the US, Canada, Australia, or the UK, you should check out his tour dates and go see him live!

Off his newest album, Atlanta (all of which is awesome, I just find this especially beautiful): October Trees.

Wait for the light to come back on.
You seem lost, your back against the wall.
It’s cold outside, it is winter in your heart,
Your eyes go blind, you are shrouded in a fog.

So can we change,
Or is this surrender?
I once loved your grace
And the innocence that fell from you like leaves
Spiral off October trees.
You know I love you,
What else do you want from me?

The wind cuts through and it chills me to the bone.
The sunlight feels like a ghost that’s so far gone.
A sad old song keeps on ringing in my head;
The darkest time seems to be the miles ahead

So can we change,
Or is this surrender?
I once loved your grace
And the innocence that fell from you like leaves
Spiral off October trees.
You know I love you
What else do you want from me?

Where is your dignity?
Where is your pride?
Where is the love that you once had inside?
Where is your dignity?
Where is your pride?
Where is the voice that was always your guide?
(x2)

Where is your dignity?
Where is your pride?

So can we change,
Or is this surrender?
I once loved your grace
And the innocence that fell from you like leaves
Spiral off October trees.
You know I love you
(x2)

What else do you want from me?

(Chorus repeat)

Leave a Reply

