Recovering from Sunday

We slept in Monday and essentially spent the day recovering from the events of Sunday night. Matt made fried spaghetti for lunch – apparently that’s a big thing here – using fresh eggs from Nonna’s chickens. I learned how to operate a gas stove properly, without setting things on fire. After a late lunch we headed to the base to get my seven-day pass and make sure that my card was still in working order.

It is! So now I have money and a working card, which is lovely. Matt also got a wallet to replace my old one, yay for Matt, and I met some of his friends on base. So that was done, and good, and now I’m not worrying about whether or not I need a new card. (Sidenote: bringing backup might have been a wise decision.)

Today’s been chill because Matt’s had work from 7 AM to 7 PM and, since I lost the spare house key when my stuff careened down the highway, I’m at his place blogging until he gets off work (which is why I’ve actually been blogging while here). Once he comes back we’re going to try to take the front tire off the BMW…it’s not drive-able, and I can’t tell you how sad I am about this because now I really like that bike!

We’ve got the next few days planned out now, and they should be pretty busy! Tomorrow we’re going to Pompeii and Vesuvius, as well as Miseno, this tiny island off the coast, and potentially the Sulfatora volcano. Thursday we’re getting up early and taking the trans-alp to Rome, or catching a train if the weather takes a turn for the worse. Friday I’ve booked a mozzarella and limoncello tour in Sorrento, and then we’re going to wander around Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. Everything for the weekend isn’t set in stone yet, but it’s easily going to be every bit as busy! And filled with good food, drinks, and espresso!

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

