Kindred spirits with a city…

Right now, the view of Florence from piazzale Michelangelo fills my computer screen. I think it’s the first time I’ve kept a picture of something that isn’t nature – the beach outside Naples, Irish hillside, the Blue Ridge Mountains are all popular choices for my desktop background – in I don’t know how long.

I loved Florence. It has to be one of my absolute favorite cities. I’m usually pretty antsy in cities, like all the hustle and bustle of them makes me a little nervous, like I’m in someone’s way all the time. I didn’t feel that way in Florence. Maybe it was the company, or our wonderful adventures, or maybe it was just the city itself. While the architecture was – IS – breathtaking (I’m obsessed), I could still see the mountains there. We could ride a bus for five minutes and see trees, grassy wrinkling land falling in front of us like a well-worn bedspread. Even sitting on the stone steps in the piazza, listening to music with a hundred other people, Florence felt peaceful.

Has anyone else felt that connection with a place before? Usually for me it’s up in nature somewhere, hiking in the Blue Ridge, driving through Connemara, rock-hopping through Hebron. It’s not usually in places with stuccoed stories, bridges, stone streets. But I liked Florence like that, wanted to stay there in the middle of it’s unique city-ness. I’m living in London, traveling and having an amazing time here, but I miss that city like the friends who study there.

Isn’t that strange?

The view from Fiesole

The view from Fiesole

The view from Piazzale Michelangelo. <3

The view from Piazzale Michelangelo. ❤

One thought on “Kindred spirits with a city…

Leave a Reply

