Great news!

This afternoon I got an email from undergrad lit mag Outrageous Fortune about publishing my poem, Dementia. It’s my first poetry publication (not counting one overly sentimental teenage piece when I was fifteen) and I am SO stoked about this! The version I sent into OF is slightly different from the one I posted here several months ago so, without further ado, here it is:

Dementia

This is what frightens me
about growing old.

To forget the way the hair curled,
lying soft against the back of your neck.
To lose the remembering of words like warmth
and laughter. To find that the colors of autumn
leaves at sunset on the Blue Ridge faded
from my memory.

But for it to happen to you;
that would be the worst death.

3 thoughts on “Great news!

  1. Congrats on getting your poem published! You have every reason to be excited, especially because you are exceptional at writing poetry! I too am scared about dementia. My grandfather just turned 90 and is still healthy, but his short term memory is fading. I too believe that the worst death is that of the mind – our love and relationships are based on memories and without them we are just strangers. It’s a scary reality that I hope will not happen to your loved ones. Hope you have a great day 🙂

    • Thanks for your sweet words! You have my empathy about your grandfather. Parkinson’s runs in my family, though thankfully we haven’t been touched by Alzheimers. It does scare me, though, as everyone ages.

      • No matter what happens, I’ve learned that you need to take every moment you can to tell someone you love them and keep that warm closeness with you wherever you go. I pray that my grandfather still remembers who I am when I travel back home again. There are no regrets when you give of yourself fully through love and compassion. We all age, but our souls never grow old.

Leave a Reply

